About Us

Norfolk & Southern Historical Society, Incorporated

The Norfolk & Southern Historical Society was organized on April 20th, 2002, and incorporated under the laws of the State of North Carolina. A seven-member Board of Directors, which includes the following four officers, governs the organization: (1) President, (2) Vice-President, (3) Secretary, and (4) Treasurer. Members of the Board of Directors serve for terms of three years each, elected in a rotating schedule so that no more than three members' terms expire in any year.

The Society is organized to secure and study the history of, and educate the public about the history of the original Norfolk (&) Southern Railroad/Railway as a charitable and educational organization, within the meaning of Sections 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and to receive gifts which qualify under section 170 of that code, or the corresponding provisions of any future United States Internal Revenue Code. The principal office and place of business is at 2222 West Club Boulevard, Durham, Durham County, North Carolina.

It is important to note that the railroad which the organization studies is NOT the current Norfolk Southern Railway, but only a small portion of that railway, specifically that portion which was chartered in the state of North Carolina as the Elizabeth City and Norfolk Railroad in January 1870, was renamed the Norfolk Southern Railroad in January 1883, was renamed the Norfolk and Southern Railroad in 1891, was subsequently reorganized and expanded several times, and was merged into the Southern Railway System on January 1st, 1974.

The Society holds an annual meeting, usually the third Saturday in April, at a location, which is selected by the Board of Directors at the previous year's annual meeting. Previous meetings have been held as such:

2023 - Edenton, NC (planned)
2022 - Sanford, NC - (was Edenton, moved due to bike race, rode on New Hope Valley Railway)
2021 - Edenton, NC - Canceled due to Covid-19
2020 - Edenton, NC - Canceled due to Covid-19
2019 - Spencer, NC (Visited North Carolina Transportation Museum)
2018 - Robbins, NC
2017 - Suffolk, VA
2016 - Fuquay-Varina, NC (Visited NS 375 caboose and train ride on New Hope Valley Railway)
2015 - Washington, NC (Tour of NS right-of-way between Pantego and Roper)
2014 - Fayetteville, NC (Tour of Cape Fear Rail Car and Red Springs & Northern motorcar ride)
2013 - Walstonburg, NC (Tour of Wilson, NC and area)
2012 - Norfolk, VA (Fort Story tour and The Tide light-rail ride)
2011 - Oakboro, NC (Carolina Stalite plant tour)
2010 - New Bern, NC (Frit Car Shops tour)
2009 - Bonsal, NC (with New Hope Valley Railway as partners)
2008 - Belhaven, NC (PCS Phosphate tour with Railcar Operators of Carolinas on display at Belhaven Depot)
2007 - Aberdeen, NC (Sandhills excursion train ride on the AC&W RR from Aberdeen to Candor)
2006 - Elizabeth City, NC (with cab rides on the C&A)
2005 - Jackson Springs, NC (at Jackson Springs Depot w/ train ride on the AC&W RR from Star to Candor)
2004 - Raleigh, NC (with a tour of the NS yard)
2003 - Plymouth, NC (at Port O' Plymouth Museum/Depot)
2002 - Beaufort, NC (at Depot)

The Society publishes a semi-annual newsletter, the Eastern Carolina Despatch, which contains information about the society's activities and about the history of the original Norfolk Southern Railroad. For additional information about the Society or the original Norfolk Southern Railroad, please contact the President at the address below.

President: Mike Seawell Lakeland, FL Class of 2025
Vice-President: Brian Deaton Holly Springs, NC Class of 2025
Secretary: Tony Reevy Durham, NC Class of 2023
Treasurer: Bob Zschoche Whispering Pines, NC Class of 2025
Director: Felix Freeman Roanoke, VA Class of 2025
Director: L. D. Jones Plymouth, NC Class of 2021
Director: Tim Carroll Fuquay-Varina, NC Class of 2025
Editor/Webmaster: Robert Rousseau Holly Springs, NC  


Previous What's New from older website

For Comments or Questions send an e-mail to railroad@nc.rr.com.